Did you know that MOT tests are changing?

The Driving and Vehicle Standards Agency (DVSA) is making changes to the way your MOT test is carried out. This will take effect from 20th May 2018 and will alter the testing procedures and standards for MOT tests in England, Scotland and Wales.

A lot of drivers are still confused as to what this means so read on to find out exactly what you need to be aware of. 

What are the changes?

If you took your car for an MOT today, it would simply be given a ‘pass’ or a ‘fail’ but this will all change come 20th May 2018 when each defect found will be categorised as either dangerous, major or minor depending on the severity.

Minor defects can be considered as being similar to advisories in the current test, and a vehicle will still pass its MOT if it only has minor defects.

Major and dangerous faults however will result in an MOT fail and will require the car to be repaired and re-tested.  Owners will be advised not to drive the vehicle away in its current condition.

The idea of the new changes and defect categories by the DVSA is to make it clearer to owners what condition their car is in regardless of whether the issues are big or small, and to make them consider whether they should be using it on the road.

Will the MOT certificate change?

The design of the certificate will be changed so that defects will be shown under the new fault categories clearly.

Hopefully the changes won't impact too much on you and your vehicle but if you do have any questions about the new test, our friendly service advisors will be happy to help.  

Get free MOT reminders!


If you're an existing customer of ours, you can sign up to our free MOT reminder service to get an alert when it’s due!

Sign up here.